April 19, 2024, 04:26:04 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Laser  (Read 2274 times)

Offline labeled

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Laser
« on: October 31, 2019, 03:13:32 PM »
Let's say I had a solar panel, battery, and laser diode.
The diode is turned on and off to transmit data.

So:

1. The solar panel feeds the battery
2. The battery feeds the laser, and
3. The laser turns electricity into light

Q1. Can sunlight directly augment the light put out by the diode somehow?
If so, can it increase the range and/or data transmission rate?
(I know it sounds weird, but I'm wondering)

Q2. Another case, if I go straight from a solar panel in full sunlight to the diode,
or panel -> capacitor -> diode, and focused it further somehow (cutting head),
would it be powerful enough to cut acrylic sheets?
If so, how many watts/volts are we talking about in terms of the solar panel?

Sorry if these things sound contradictory, I am very new to physics.

Offline Corribus

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +530/-23
  • A lover of spectroscopy and chocolate.
Re: Laser
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2019, 07:53:09 PM »
Q1. Can sunlight directly augment the light put out by the diode somehow?
If so, can it increase the range and/or data transmission rate?
(I know it sounds weird, but I'm wondering)
What do you mean by "augment", "range" and "data transmission rate"?
In the basic scheme you describe, the solar power and the laser aren't directly related, other than making a certain amount of stored power available.

Q2. Another case, if I go straight from a solar panel in full sunlight to the diode,
or panel -> capacitor -> diode, and focused it further somehow (cutting head),
would it be powerful enough to cut acrylic sheets?
If so, how many watts/volts are we talking about in terms of the solar panel?