April 23, 2024, 12:55:29 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: My first "total" synthesis of a molecule  (Read 2327 times)

Offline Altered State

• Mole Snacks: +24/-4
    • Chemistry Hall
My first "total" synthesis of a molecule
« on: October 10, 2013, 10:07:17 AM »
Hi there, I'm in third course of chemistry and since I love organic and the way I consider I learn more is when I research about how can I do any transformation, I've decided to do a "project" on my own to find a synthetic route to get a compound from comercialy available reactants. This have nothing to do with my classes, I'll work on this just in my free time, to learn, practice and of course, for fun.
Obviously I won't work in anything that is not already discovered, I'm just a 3rd year student for now.
But I don't have a clue about what molecule is a good one to mark as objective, so I come here and ask you for proposals.

What do I know? I studied alkanes, alkenes, alkynes, haloalkanes, alcohols, ethers, epoxides, conjugated and aromatic systems, amines, ketones/aldehydes carboxylic acids (and derivatives), alpha to carbonyl chemistry, difuncional compounds, nitrogen chemistry, and from now I'm gonna study S, P and Si chemistry, then heterocycles anf inally by December, carbohydrates, nucleic acids and aminoacids, peptids and proteins.

It would be nice if its something I could do with all this knowledge. I don't care if it requires a bit more, because learning is one of the objectives of this, but I don't want to put the cart before the horse.

Let's hear your opinions about this.
Regards, and thanks in advance

Offline kriggy

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +136/-16
Re: My first "total" synthesis of a molecule
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2013, 10:18:26 AM »