April 25, 2024, 03:21:18 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Debated topic between 2 textbooks….  (Read 4179 times)

Offline zsinger

• Mole Snacks: +18/-60
  • Graduate Chemist
Debated topic between 2 textbooks….
« on: November 02, 2013, 01:32:12 PM »
All…..I am an advanced O-Chem student (Synthetic) and I have come across 2 books which SWEAR that 2 different facts are correct, so I want the general consensus.  One book says that a Gilman Reagent is as strong of a Nuc- and base as a Grignard.  I found this HIGHLY unlikely, as it took me almost 3 tries to get the Grignard PERFECTLY dry(They weren't kidding about this B/L AB runs happening quickly!!!!!).  While Grignard gets better yields (for me anyways), the organo-copper rnxs. are usually MUCH MUCH MUCH less finicky, leading me to the less nucleophilic, less basic hypothesis.  Any help appreciated.
      Stumped Chemist in Tampa
"The answer is of zero significance if one cannot distinctly arrive at said place with an explanation"

Offline discodermolide

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +405/-70
    • My research history
Re: Debated topic between 2 textbooks….
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2013, 01:37:04 PM »
The ease or difficulty of these reactions is not due to differences in reactivity as you describe. It is to do with your skill in carrying out the experiment.
Operator variability is a tremendous factor in getting a reaction to work properly, especially in dealing with organometallic chemistry.
Development Chemists do it on Scale, Research Chemists just do it!
My Research History

Offline zsinger

• Graduate Chemist
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2013, 01:42:40 PM »
TOTALLY TOTALLY agreed……I'm talking in absolute value of basicity/nucleophilicity of Grignard vs. Gilman
"The answer is of zero significance if one cannot distinctly arrive at said place with an explanation"

Offline zsinger

• Graduate Chemist
« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2013, 01:44:24 PM »