April 24, 2024, 02:35:42 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Small business ideas with an organic chemistry set?  (Read 6164 times)

metacast

Small business ideas with an organic chemistry set?
« on: November 09, 2013, 07:12:05 PM »
First time poster. Here is the scenario:

I work online and have some extra time on my hands and have a girlfriend in the house that I can put to work on the organic chemistry set.

I was wondering if you guys knew any easy-entry local markets, or even global markets?

Building the site and marketing a product is no problem; but I've little experience and am not sure what markets are open.

There are seasoned vets here that can give me some advice. What do you guys think?

At the end of the day I'm just looking to generate some extra cash and have fun.

Cheers!
« Last Edit: November 09, 2013, 07:27:27 PM by metacast »

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1801/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: Small business ideas with an organic chemistry set?
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2013, 09:01:16 PM »
My first thought is: check what are the legal requirements for selling glass and reagents.

It is not a problem to design a fancy chemistry set. It is a problem to make it legally viable and safe enough to not risk being sued to death. Unfortunately, safe sets are often way too lame to be attractive.
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

Offline curiouscat

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +121/-35
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2013, 10:27:01 PM »
I agree with what @Borek say but I'll add this: I think the market may be good. What has happened is there used to be good quality sets but liability fears caused all the big companies to shy out of this niche market.