March 28, 2024, 07:33:37 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Separate Salt Solutions  (Read 3208 times)

Offline xx0numb0xx

• Mole Snacks: +1/-1
Separate Salt Solutions
« on: November 16, 2013, 11:45:23 PM »
I have a solution of HCl, CuCl2, and NiCl2. I want to separate the salts, but I'm having trouble figuring out how to do it because they have fairly similar densities and solubilities. I was thinking I could electroplate the nickel out more easily than the copper due to it being lower in the activity series of metals, but I'm not sure how well that would work. Due to the fact that I'm only a high school student, I don't have too great a supply of chemicals. On hand, I only have zinc, copper, aluminum, CuCl2, ZnCl2, 10M HCl, and obvious others like salt, sodium bicarbonate, and water. The predicted composition of the solution I want to separate is as follows:
.2268mol H+(aq)
1.003mol Cu2+(aq)
.3621mol Ni2+(aq)
2.957mol Cl-(aq)
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Offline Hunter2

• Mole Snacks: +162/-47
  • Vena Lausa moris pax drux bis totis
Re: Separate Salt Solutions
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2013, 12:47:34 AM »
If you have sodium iodide you can precipitate the copper as copper-I-iodide. Nickel will not be touched by iodide.

Offline xx0numb0xx

« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2013, 12:57:02 AM »
If you have sodium iodide you can precipitate the copper as copper-I-iodide. Nickel will not be touched by iodide.
I'm not sure where I could find sodium iodide or how I would isolate it from iodized salt or otherwise make it. Even so, what would happen to the sodium? Wouldn't it be left in the solution?

Offline Hunter2

• Mole Snacks: +162/-47
  • Vena Lausa moris pax drux bis totis
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2013, 01:13:49 AM »