April 28, 2024, 03:59:24 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Imposible? Mass balance exercise in an exam  (Read 5316 times)

Offline Altered State

• Mole Snacks: +24/-4
    • Chemistry Hall
Imposible? Mass balance exercise in an exam
« on: January 08, 2014, 09:47:54 AM »
Hi,

I'm studying chemistry, but this year I had a Chemical Engineering subject, and today was the final exam, and in it, there was an mass balance exercise which I believe it's imposible to solve without more data.

This is the diagram:

1 initial flowing, and just 2 distillators...

The data they gave is the following:

Compsition of F (100kg/h):
20% of A
30% of B
50% of C

About P1:
It has the 75% of F's A total mass (i.e. 0.75*20= 15 kg)
B concentration in P1: 5%

About P2:
It has the 80% of F's B total mass (i.e. 0.8*30= 24 kg)
C concentration in P1: 4%

About P1:
It has the 80% of F's C total mass (i.e. 0.8*50= 40 kg)
A concentration in P1: 1%

And thats it.
Not even the total mass of P1, P2 or P3 or in the intermediate flowing.

The exam had 3 exercises, I solved correctly 2 of them in 30 minutes, and I spent 2:30h trying to figure how this one was, but I can't see a way.
I got a bunch of balance equations, but none of them gave me results, I think you need more data to solve this.

I'll talk to the professor tomorrow morning, but I'd really hope you could help me out with this.

Regards

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1801/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: Imposible? Mass balance exercise in an exam
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2014, 03:55:20 PM »
And what is the question? Find everything?

Not that I see how to solve it, doesn't look like there are enough equations. Unless they meant P1 doesn't contain C or something like that. But don't take me too seriously, I am just trying to apply common logic to the problem.