March 29, 2024, 10:36:51 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Voltalization of slats.  (Read 2903 times)

Offline Elvyn

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Voltalization of slats.
« on: January 22, 2014, 02:00:42 PM »
Hi,
I'm not really sure that this is the right place to ask this, if it isn't, please move my subject into a correct place. I would also like to say, that I'm not very good at chemistry... so please be patient with me.

I'm interested in voltalization of metallic salts. I want to make them "fly", evaporate along with some other substances at low temperatures.

My starting point is work preformed by Professor Manfred Junius, described in "The Circulatum Minus annotated". He describes there voltalizations of mineral remains of herbs extracted from theirs ashes (probably KOH?), using alcohol and resins. Unfortunately he doesn't explain how does it work. I would like to learn that.
I will quote some of this work:
"resins (...) are complex mixtures
of mainly aromatic substances with properties of acids, further
alcohols, phenols, strongly unsaturated substances."

"(We shall see later that the organic acids it contains
are the key to the secret of volatilizing the Salts). Since
the organic acids present in the distillate do not suffice for the
operation, more have to be added from outside."

"(Succinic acid which
amber contains is a marvellous catalyst)."
He claims that he succeeded.

I would like to politely ask you, to explain to me how could it work ?
I also wonder if it could also work with some other metal salts (for example bitsmuth salts) ?

I will be very gratefull for all the answers.
Thank you.

Offline Corribus

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +526/-23
  • A lover of spectroscopy and chocolate.
Re: Voltalization of slats.
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2014, 02:10:06 PM »