April 26, 2024, 06:22:25 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Flourine NMR - What does a bad signal to noise ratio mean?  (Read 7074 times)

Offline DoctorDomo

• Mole Snacks: +2/-4
Flourine NMR - What does a bad signal to noise ratio mean?
« on: March 12, 2014, 09:39:53 AM »
What does it mean if you get a crappy signal to noise ratio? I'm an undergrad (4th year chem major doing my thesis), I don't get to run NMRs myself, I have to submit them to the postgrads in the NMR room, I dissolved my product (its a benzene ring which should have at least some fluorine substituents) in CDCl3 and submitted it for a HNMR and an FNMR. The proton NMR came out fine, but the fluorine NMR is a big mess, the FID is basically just a straight line. They tried twice but both attempts produced that shitty spectrum.

What does this mean? I considered that all F atoms mighta been lost in my reaction, but that would just produce a straight line wouldn't it? The spectrum is a big thick (wasted a lot of ink printing it) mess with a thousand peaks, and only one thing that could be considered possibly a real peak. Why would the proton NMR work fine, but the fluorine NMR not work? It looks kinda like this:

minus the shark peak. Also its not perfectly linear, its more wavy. I'll upload it when I have the time so you can see for yourself.

Offline Corribus

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +530/-23
  • A lover of spectroscopy and chocolate.
Re: Flourine NMR - What does a bad signal to noise ratio mean?
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2014, 10:56:08 AM »
You are showing two spectra. What is what? (Although they look somewhat identical).
What men are poets who can speak of Jupiter if he were like a man, but if he is an immense spinning sphere of methane and ammonia must be silent?  - Richard P. Feynman

Offline DoctorDomo

« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2014, 03:06:20 PM »