April 18, 2024, 09:02:11 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Oxygen Permeation through PET  (Read 11419 times)

ricklin

Oxygen Permeation through PET
« on: March 15, 2006, 03:57:47 PM »
I work in the PET bottle business. Oxygen permeation through PET to the product inside is a big issue with customers. I understand that O2 permeation takes place due to partial pressure difference  between the inside of the container and the outside, but, what I don't quite get is what happens inside the bottle to make physical room for O2 molecules to come through the container. Does something leave or does it compress? Thanks.

Rick

Offline constant thinker

• mad scientist
  • Mole Snacks: +85/-45
Re:Oxygen Permeation through PET
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2006, 04:29:07 PM »
What does PET stand for?

Personal Envisioning Thesis
Positron Emission Topography
Pets Envisioning Theories

Those are what I can think of PET standing for.
« Last Edit: March 15, 2006, 04:47:53 PM by constant thinker »
"The nine most terrifying words in the English language are, 'I'm from the government and I'm here to help.' " -Ronald Reagan

"I'm for anything that gets you through the night, be it prayer, tranquilizers, or a bottle of Jack Daniels." -Frank Sinatra

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1800/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2006, 05:24:06 PM »
Google PET bottle - it is absolutely unambiguous.
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

ricklin

« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2006, 10:32:52 AM »
Sorry about that, PET is Polyethylene Terephthalate or the clear bottles they use for bottled water, soda, ect.

Rick

Offline constant thinker

• mad scientist
  • Mole Snacks: +85/-45
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2006, 03:57:30 PM »
I never thought of googling it, sorry about that.