April 19, 2024, 02:43:35 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Algae fertilizer calculations, determining pH in complex mixtures of salts  (Read 3813 times)

Offline algaeman

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Hi guys,

I am working on an algae farm and we are trying to reformulate our fertilizer blend to increase ammonia concentration in our ponds in an attempt to kill some of the zooplankton (such as rotifers) that are causing us problems with production.

We have initially tried using 0.0015M ammonium dihydrogen phosphate (NH4H2PO4) as the base of our fertilizer mix but we have had a lot of trouble getting the pH above 7 (ideally we want it >9) in order to have a higher percentage of free ammonia (NH3) in the system. In addition this puts waaaaayyy to much phosphate into the system which will never be used up.

I am a biologist by training with some chemistry experience from university so I have been trying to learn pH calculations for weak acids and bases to better understand how we can achieve our goals.

I have determined that ammonium dihydrogen phosphate will dissociate into ammonium and dihydrogen phosphate ions. The Ka for dihydrogen phosphate (Ka=6.2*10-8) is around two orders of magnitude above the Ka for ammonium (Ka=5.6*10-10). So when looking at the pH calculation for this salt should I;

1. Just determine the resulting pH from the dissociation of dihydrogen phosphate?
2. Determine equilibrium [H+] from dissociation 1. THEN input that into a second calculation involving the dissociation of ammonium?
3. Take the resulting equilibrium [H+] from 2. and further determine the result of the dissociation of hydrogen phosphate to hydrogen and phosphate ions?