March 29, 2024, 03:40:30 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: 2 Questions on Thermodynamics and Equilibrium  (Read 9056 times)

Offline CandySun

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
2 Questions on Thermodynamics and Equilibrium
« on: March 31, 2014, 11:40:14 PM »
Hello everyone, I am a Canadian student preparing for the upcoming CCO. When I was doing Problem Set#3 on the official website, I couldn't get the correct answer from these two following problems. Could someone help me out?

#1 By how much does the solubility of silver chloride increase when you increase the temperature of the solution from 10 to 90 degree celsius.
a. 170x     b. 21x   c. 76x    d. 214x    e. 14x...

The data give are     AgCl (standard heat of formation (kJ/mol): -127      standard entropy (J/mol): -109)
Ag+ (105, 77)
Cl-   (-167, -131)

#2 A plume of air near a smoke stack contains a partial pressure of sulfur dioxide gas of 1.0*10^-7 atm, using the equilibrium reaction shown below calculate the pH of cloud droplets that form in this air plume?

SO2(g) + 2H2O(l)  = HSO3-(aq) + H3O+(aq)              K=1.7*10^-2

a. 2.79   b. 5.56    c. 3.26     d. 2.55    e. 4.38

Thank you very much if you could show me the full solution!

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1799/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: 2 Questions on Thermodynamics and Equilibrium
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2014, 02:41:19 AM »
Forum rules require that you show an attempt at solving the problem.

At least try to write equations that can be applied here.
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

Offline CandySun

« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2014, 07:54:38 PM »
Sorry, I'm new to the forum.
Here're my attempts.
#42. From the give data, standard change of enthalpy = 105+(-167)-(-127)=65kJ/mol
standard change of entropy = 77-131-(-109)=55 J/mol
Standard gibbs free energy = 65000 - (298)(55) = 48610J