June 15, 2024, 06:53:16 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Liquid helium properties/cycles  (Read 8256 times)

Equinox

Liquid helium properties/cycles
« on: March 17, 2006, 01:10:26 AM »
  Since im new to the forum I should start by saying hi and give you a short background. Im a programmer/lead machinist for Mogas severe service ball valves.

I have read the posting rules and have searched the forums for such a topic. I hope that you can forgive me for my ignorance in the matters of chemistry and my form of questions.

Objectives:

I want to create a a device that reaches top performance of the cold fingers today without the use of a piston. I would like to use a dense liquid to compress the helium. Therefore having no moving parts as associated with cold fingers. The application is for processor cooling and the form factor is "link"
http://www.knightsguildbattalion.com/kgb/datas/users/32-p1010197.jpg

Questions:

Liquid helium can reach temperatures as low as -263C? This temperature is reached by the process of liquid to gas transformation or can it sustain that temperature under constant compression?

Assuming that it reaches those temperatures from returning to gaseous state is there a pressure/vacuum rating to reach the lowest possible temperature?

What is a reasonable compression rate in psi for helium to compress to its most dense state?

What is the compression ratio for Helium from liquid to solid? I was able to find nitrogen's 694 to 1 if that example helps explain my question.

I have several questions pertaining to this matter I just don't want to wear out my welcome with my first post:)

Sincerely
Equinox ;)

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1804/-411
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re:Liquid helium properties/cycles
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2006, 03:27:27 AM »