April 29, 2024, 07:34:45 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Looking for Help - Hydrocarbon Combustion in Closed Volume  (Read 4425 times)

Offline fl7782

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Looking for Help - Hydrocarbon Combustion in Closed Volume
« on: April 27, 2014, 11:13:09 PM »

Hello, new member here.  I am a physicist and have a need for some chemistry calculations.  I would appreciate your review of the following calculations and your commentary on any of it.  Thank you.

____

This is a calculation of the pressure increase in a pressure vessel which is heated externally.  There is some paper-like material inside the vessel which will combust until the oxygen in the vessel is depleted.  My intention is to estimate the increase in pressure, including the effects of heat and increase in gas molecules.

A couple of comments: (1) This is a calculation only, we will not be doing this experimentally... no worries.  (2) An estimate is acceptable; an answer within 30% or 40% would be fine.

____

Initial air inside vessel, mole fraction:

Nitrogen 0.78
Oxygen 0.21
Argon etc 0.01

Ideal Gas Law PV = nRT

n/V [=] moles/L (has units of)

n/V = P/RT

Example, for Nitrogen:

(.78 atm)/[(.08206 L.atm/K.mol)(0+273)K] = .035 moles/L N2

where 0 C has been chosen as standard temperature.

Result:

.035 moles/L N2
.0094 moles/L O2
.00045 moles/L Argon etc

____

The volume of the vessel is V = 3.5 L

So initially,

.123 moles N2
.033 moles O2
.0016 moles Argon etc

____

Treat the paper-like material as cellulose: C6H10O5

Molecular weight: 162.14 g/mole

Assume there is about 1/4 lb = 113 g of paper-like material in the vessel:

113 g / (162 g/mole) = 0.70 mole cellulose

____

Assume complete combustion:

C6H10O5 + 6O2 = 6CO2 + 5H2O
.0055 moles, .033 moles, .033 moles, .028 moles

The moles listed above were determined per:
There is only .033 moles of O2 in the closed vessel; once that is depleted, combustion must cease.