April 20, 2024, 01:19:21 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Ultra high-energy compounds - Tetrazomethane, diazoketene  (Read 7673 times)

Offline shelanachium

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +12/-0
Ultra high-energy compounds - Tetrazomethane, diazoketene
« on: August 04, 2007, 06:06:13 PM »
This may be a bit abstruse for a forum like this - if it is can someone recommend a site I could visit? - I am not a professional chemist so cannot access professional sites and many professionals do not answer my emails. I think this is because I do not have an academic email address so my emails go in their spam boxes and are not read. I am however extremely knowledgable indeed and speculate endlessly - like this:

I have often wondered if the extreme compound tetrazomethane NNCNN could be synthesised - if it could it would be an excellent source of atomic carbon in the gas phase at low temperatures, unlike the involatile solid diazotetrazole NN=(CN4).

Having learnt of Karl Christe’s synthesis of the azidodiazonium ion [N5]+ I wondered if isoelectronic species could be synthesised such as [NNNCO]+, [OCNCO]+ , [HC(NN)2]+, [HC(CO)2]+ and [NNC(H)CO]+. I have found a paper on the possible stabilities of two of these, [HC(NN)2]+ and [HC(CO)2]+, in which the authors suggest that these should be isolable as solids with suitable counteranions:

Papakondylis and Mauridis J Phys Chem A 109 (29) 6549 -6554, 2005. 'Ab Initio Investigation of the Electronic Structure and Bonding of HC(N2)x + and HC(CO)x + cations'

[HC(CO)2]+ should be obtained on superacid protonation of carbon suboxide C(CO)2, but [HC(N2)2]+ might be obtained by a similar method to that Christe used for [N5]+ which is the reaction between azide ion, dinitrogen difluoride and arsenic pentafluoride:

[N3]- + N2F2 + 2AsF5 ---> [N5]+ + 2[AsF6]-

but substituting diazomethide anion for azide:

[NNCH]- + N2F2 + 2AsF5 ---> [NNC(H)NN]+ + 2 [AsF6]-  (NNC(H)NN same as [HC(N2)2]+)