April 28, 2024, 10:43:59 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: DECOMPOSITION PATHWAY  (Read 3879 times)

Offline adam667

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
DECOMPOSITION PATHWAY
« on: May 26, 2014, 06:16:30 AM »
My query is in regard to organic molecules ( in general ) which structurally and/or empirically decompose as opposed to having a melting point and perhaps also boiling point, hence triple point etc.

Could anyone possibly help me regarding a generalized procedure for predicting decomposition pathway?

Given how complicated some structures get and how drastically properties can differ in small empirical and structural changes, i have made the assumption that it  is not as simple a procedure as for one to simply rank the individual bonds that exist in the molecule, and predict a decomposition pathway starting from weakest bond to strongest along a temperature gradient "timeline" .

I apologize if my terminology is not on par i am not a professional organic chemist, i just study physical sciences in general as a hobby/obsession.

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
Re: DECOMPOSITION PATHWAY
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2014, 08:36:40 AM »
Briefly, no, your request is not easily possible.   Let's try to work through your question, a little bit at a time, and see if we can come up with something we can answer.

I apologize if my terminology is not on par i am not a professional organic chemist, i just study physical sciences in general as a hobby/obsession.

Thank you for taking the time to mention this.  I hope you'll keep it in mind as we try to work through your problem.

My query is in regard to organic molecules ( in general ) which structurally

With you so far ...

and/or empirically decompose as opposed to having a melting point and perhaps also boiling point, hence triple point etc.