March 29, 2024, 02:59:35 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Studying both Organic Chemistry and Biochemistry  (Read 8228 times)

Offline biomiracle

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Studying both Organic Chemistry and Biochemistry
« on: June 22, 2014, 01:23:00 AM »
Hello!

I am a rising sophomore with double major in a microbiology and a chemistry.  For the upcoming Fall semester, I will be taking the intermediate organic chemistry and the organic chemistry lab.  Yesterday, I found that I can take the first semester of the year-long introductory biochemistry course.  Is it advisable to take both organic chemistry and biochemistry at the same time?  If I study for the organic chemistry over this summer, will this be okay to take the biochemistry?

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
Re: Studying both Organic Chemistry and Biochemistry
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2014, 07:10:56 AM »
It really depends on your university's curriculum, some try to avoid student's taking intensive courses in the same semester.  However, it is really up to you and your study habits.  As I recall, even though biochemistry is supposed to be built heavily on organic chemistry, it really isn't greatly concerned with advanced organic chemistry concepts.  Of course, biochemistry reactions are mostly based around organic molecules.  But the most advanced concept, off the top of my head, is that some enzymatic reactions proceed by a Shiff's base mechanism.  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Schiff_base#Biochemistry  And even that example I had to Google for.  See is someone else on this board can provide another example.
Hey, I'm not judging.  I just like to shoot straight.  I'm a man of science.

Offline Babcock_Hall

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +319/-22
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2014, 10:00:58 AM »