April 26, 2024, 11:00:27 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Stereochemistry + reaction with Grignard  (Read 5298 times)

Offline Nanolysis

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Stereochemistry + reaction with Grignard
« on: June 28, 2014, 03:43:28 PM »
Hello guys,

I'm a first year student in biopharmaceutical scienes and orgainc chemistry is a course we need to get through. In a few days I'll have to make the exam again because I failed the first exam horribly.

So I'm studying again and I really experience problems with stereochemistry and one other reaction I encountered.

Some things are still not clear to me.

So I have to determine what relations these two compounds have (see picture)

I'd say they're diastereomeres because only one stereocenter is the same in both and 2 are different?

And I'm also asked if we'd treat both compounds with DBU (the picture is way too big for the thread) http://www.iris-biotech.de/media/catalog/product/cache/2/image/9df78eab33525d08d6e5fb8d27136e95/r/l/rl-1151_182.jpg only one would react with it.

But how can I know this? I do understand the pi bond from the double bond in DBU will attack a proton from both compounds. But which proton exactly and how can I distinguish their reactivity?

And a second question I have: the following compound is treated with sulfuric acid and a Grignard reagent.

These are the reactants, the product is given in a molecular formula and I'm ought to give the structural formula of the synthesized compound...I really can't explain the product. The only thing I know is that they're two oxygens lost and that they must become a good leaving group first before they can be cleaved off....this is done with protonation of both carbonlyl groups right? Not the ester-oxygen...but what is the mechanism exactly? :(

Can anyone help me?

Offline kriggy

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +136/-16
Re: Stereochemistry + reaction with Grignard
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2014, 05:33:29 PM »