April 19, 2024, 09:58:25 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Semiconductor R&D: Advice on Academic Major?  (Read 2817 times)

Offline theForce

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Semiconductor R&D: Advice on Academic Major?
« on: July 11, 2014, 04:05:38 PM »
Hello,

I am currently attending a community college and I am a returning adult student. I have never had physics or chemistry courses at all up to now. Therefore, it may come as no surprise that I have some overgeneralized  question about semiconductor R&D: If there is a research project to develop micro-electronic circuits, how do the roles of a post-doc in nanoscale chemistry compare to a post-doc in nanoscale physics? I'm trying to decide if I want to pursue an undergraduate major, B.S. in chemistry or B.S. in Physics. Looking above at each of the post-doctoral careers, they seem closely related and would do very similar daily tasks in microelectronics R&D. I know that chemists with advanced training do R&D in micro-electronics as do physicists. But I don't know how the tasks each do are different and so I don't know weather I would enjoy chemistry as a major or physics. I have seen posts over in the materials and nanochemistry forum on this website and wondered if chemistry is ideal for microelectronics R&D.

Thanks. 

Offline Corribus

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +530/-23
  • A lover of spectroscopy and chocolate.
Re: Semiconductor R&D: Advice on Academic Major?
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2014, 07:58:09 PM »