April 26, 2024, 08:36:20 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Why the difficulty?  (Read 2834 times)

Offline zsinger

• Mole Snacks: +18/-60
  • Graduate Chemist
Why the difficulty?
« on: August 17, 2014, 09:01:28 AM »
All,
Not sure if this is OK to post, so if it is not, a mod. is free to delete it at will.  I am wondering why I simply CANNOT get chemicals such as SOCl2, AA (and most anhydrides for that matter), malonic ester, acetoacetic ester, STAB and Sodium Cyanoborohydride (Most metal hydrides are closely watched now) etc. from non-sketchball chemical companies?  I am a HOME chemist, so I know that has much to do with it.  However, 5 years ago, one could order T-Bu. Lithium, and NOBODY TURNED AN EYE!  I am a graduate student 3 years into my Ph.D. in organic, so I am not a novice in the least, nor in a laboratory.  I have ALL of these chemicals, tools, free reign to order them THROUGH THE UNIVERSITY in my lab, but in the words of a very famous scientist (You'll know who I'm talking about if you've ever read it), "The one source "un-named author" does not condone is theft.  If you steal, then you are a weasel and a coward." (13).  I would never steal any reagents, etc, as it is wrong first off, and would surely nix my chances of attaining my Ph.D.  I am not asking for sources etc.  Just some ideas, etc, would be greatly appreciated.  I've exhausted all my efforts to attain said chemicals, and I just am not able to.  I will provide anybody who might be able to help with intended usage forms, etc, as I am NOT a s#*$-hook meth producer.  I have nothing to hide.  Just somebody who is fascinated by home chemistry and experimentation.  I HATE HAVING TO SYNTHESIZE MY OWN PRECURSORS, as separations and product loss is always a problem, no matter how good of lab technique one has.  Somewhat like peddling your car…..kinda defeats the purpose.
           -Zack