April 23, 2024, 12:51:11 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Hello! designing an experiment to compare hydrogen bond strength?  (Read 4329 times)

Offline wiggins.ricky

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
hello im new to this forum and hope to be an active member for a long while :) im a graduate biochemistry student

for my first problem i would like to ask related to the alpha (α) helix secondary structure of proteins:

is there a way to design an experiment to whereby i can relatively tell the extent and the number of internal hydrogen bonding (between amino acids of the protein) compared to that of the external (with the surrounding environment and solution)??

thanks in advance its just that this problem has been taking a lot of my time and i haven't been able to reach an assuring end as i dont know whether what im thinking of is right

Offline wiggins.ricky

Alpha helix H bond comparison experiment design
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2014, 01:00:56 PM »
Hello Sorry it seems i posted my question on a different subforum here (the organic chemistry) and didnt get an answer and now noticed the biochemistry one which is what im asking about, excuse me for the inconvenience

but the problem i would like to ask related to the alpha (α) helix secondary structure of proteins:

is there a way to design an experiment to whereby i can relatively tell the extent and the number of internal hydrogen bonding (between amino acids of the protein) compared to that of the external (with the surrounding environment and solution)?? basically this procedure would allow me to compare the strength of the H bonds that make up the alpha helix and the H bonds that occur between it and the external environment

i have been struggling deeply with this and would be very grateful for some guiding or help as it has consumed a lot of my time
Thanks

Offline salteen

• Mole Snacks: +2/-0
Re: Hello! designing an experiment to compare hydrogen bond strength?