May 01, 2024, 04:06:40 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Question about Orbitals and Pauli Exclusion Principle  (Read 3168 times)

Offline Mazin

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Question about Orbitals and Pauli Exclusion Principle
« on: October 27, 2014, 04:14:55 PM »
I am studying Chemistry at a HE Access course which is A Level standard chemistry.

We have covered Atomic Structure and I am now revising for an end of term test.

On reviewing the S, P, Do orbitals etc I have become confused about the Orbitals and the Pauli Exclusion Principle which states that no two electrons can have the same 4 quantum numbers. 

I understand the orbital is thought of as a volume of space where there is a high probability of finding an electron. But as you progress up to higher orbitals, aren't you going to get a situation where there is an overlap of orbitals?  For example the 3s spherical orbital will surround the 1s, 2s, and 2 p orbitals in part.  Does this violate the Pauli exclusion principle in that the 1s, 2s and 2p orbitals are in the same space as the 3s orbital? 

Can you explain what's wrong with my thinking?  Thanks

Offline Irlanur

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +32/-4
Re: Question about Orbitals and Pauli Exclusion Principle
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2014, 04:46:21 PM »
I am afraid you won't get around some math to understand this better. Did you hear about the Schrödinger equation and wavefunctions? and what orbitals really are?

why do you think that the overlap (as you define it) is a problem?

just saying: Orbital overlap is a mathematically well-defined quantity and the meaning is a bit different than yours...

Offline Mazin

« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2014, 05:23:56 PM »
I am afraid you won't get around some math to understand this better. Did you hear about the Schrödinger equation and wavefunctions? and what orbitals really are?

why do you think that the overlap (as you define it) is a problem?