April 28, 2024, 02:13:40 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Rotational Spectroscopy  (Read 4153 times)

Offline mrorganiclover

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Rotational Spectroscopy
« on: November 16, 2014, 03:17:16 PM »
Good day ladies and gentlemen

I'm currently studying chemistry and I have a spectroscopy module (which I'm finding rather tricky). I'm not sure if this is allowed on here, but I couldn't think of a better way to get help at this precise moment. So here goes....

Can you good people please help me understand how I get the answers to the following questions (I don't want the answers, more the concepts involved).

4. The energy levels of a rigid diatomic rotor are given by:

E = BJ(J+1).

(a)What are the rotational energies of the first 4 levels of this system?

(b)The selection rule governing rotational transitions is J = 1

Show that the rotational energy change associated with the excitation of a diatomic molecule from J J+1 is given by:- 2B(J+1) where J is the rotational quantum number of the lower level.

(c)What is the energy change associated with the first three rotational transitions?

Much thanks in advance

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1801/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: Rotational Spectroscopy
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2014, 04:01:54 PM »
You have to show your attempts at solving the question to receive help. This is a forum policy.
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

Offline mrorganiclover

« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2014, 04:13:20 PM »
Okay thanks for letting me know. The thing is, I have no idea where to start, thus my reasoning for the post.   Like I said previously, I dont actually want the answers just help with getting there....

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1801/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy