Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: NaCl  (Read 3891 times)

Offline malcnunn

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
NaCl
« on: January 23, 2015, 11:53:30 AM »
Hi
I am a hobbyist studying marine biology and have been aquaculturing hard corals for a number of years . I have recently had an ICP test done on our water and after chatting with other hobbyists it seems many if not all manufactured salts (that we mix with RoDi) have uimpurities (some have high Zn etc etc).
My question is this , would anyone like to give me advice or help me create a pure salt mix ? Is it even possible due to the amount of trace elements required ?
Many thanks in advance  :)

malcolm

Offline Dan

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +469/-72
  • Organic Chemist
    • My research
Re: NaCl
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2015, 12:25:10 PM »
pure salt mix

What do you mean by this? For a chemist, the terms pure and mixture are mutually exclusive.
My research: Google Scholar and Researchgate

Offline billnotgatez

• Global Moderator
  • Mole Snacks: +223/-62
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2015, 07:25:46 PM »
@malcnunn
I assume the reason why you want pure Sodium chloride is to be able to control the chemical composition of the water you use during an experiment
But
How does the substitute sea water you make compare to actual sea water?

Detailed composition of seawater
http://www.seafriends.org.nz/oceano/seawater.htm#composition

Could you explain your term
with RoDi
So that other members on this forum might follow the discussion.

I assume that
ICP test
is
Inductively coupled plasma mass spectrometry
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Inductively_coupled_plasma_mass_spectrometry

« Last Edit: January 23, 2015, 07:38:56 PM by billnotgatez »

Offline malcnunn

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2015, 02:25:06 PM »
thanks for the replies , I will try to explain best I can and apologies I am not a chemist by any means :)