April 25, 2024, 09:53:04 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: What electives should I take for chemistry grad school?  (Read 4329 times)

Offline Bioinorganic78

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
  • Undergraduate Chemistry Student
What electives should I take for chemistry grad school?
« on: March 15, 2015, 12:23:27 AM »
Hello everyone. I am currently a second semester sophomore completing a B.S. in chemistry, concentration in biochemistry. I am preparing my schedule for next year, and have found I have several spots for free electives to take over my remaining 4 semesters and I dont know what to take. I have about 6 free electives to take as I will have already finished all my GE classes.

What are some useful electives to take for chemistry graduate school (PhD)? For those of you in grad school, are there any electives/classes you wish you had or taken or that you took and found useful in grad school? Or any electives you found useful in general or interesting? I was thinking of possibly computer fundamentals and extra math such as differential equations or linear algebra (I have taken up to calculus 3 and intro statistics). I was also possibly thinking about public speaking.

Any input is appreciated. Thank you.

Online Corribus

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +530/-23
  • A lover of spectroscopy and chocolate.
Re: What electives should I take for chemistry grad school?
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2015, 10:15:16 AM »
Sciencewise: extra physics, math, or biology courses are always helpful. Linear algebra or diff-eq are probably both good options, but if you're more interested in biochem or organic chem, you probably won't need that stuff. Computer science (programming) is something I definitely wish I had taken.

Non-science: as a career scientist, you will do a lot of writing, so any elective that helps you out with this skill will definitely be useful, particularly if your writing skills aren't so hot.