April 20, 2024, 07:27:44 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Is such a medicine theoretically possible?  (Read 1900 times)

DarkSerena

Is such a medicine theoretically possible?
« on: January 23, 2015, 01:14:52 PM »
Good morning, I happened to have a few questions about chemistry and I thought I could search for an expert's opinion about it. I would like to warn you that I am not a chemist nor a scientist of any kind, and that I don't have any further knowledge about chemistry than high school education.

I am an author, and I am planning to write a science fiction novel about drugs. What I am about to ask is going to be entirely fictional, and therefore it doesn't have to be entirely "real". I just need your help to make it as "realistic" as possible; I don't want to be blackmailed by chemists around the world, so I would be really pleased if what I write was at least theoretically possible. Thank you for you patience.

Ok, now the question:
Is it possible to create a drug that
1) Noticeably enhances the immune system and restrains the symptoms of AIDS.
2) Has slight nootropic effects and increases tolerance to physiological stress.
3) Can be used as a strong analgesic, in a similar fashion to opioids. Functionally to the plot, it should possibly give addiction and heavy side effects.

My best guess was this: it is my knowledge that our dna has a lot of superabundant genes that are somehow "turned off". Maybe, the correct inducement can make them active again to produce proteines that would activate the aforementioned effects.

However, I really don't know... this might be a giant heap of crap. Please, be constructive with me.

Offline kriggy

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +136/-16
Re: Is such a medicine theoretically possible?
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2015, 05:55:49 PM »