March 28, 2024, 07:26:50 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Mixed order reaction kinetics  (Read 9782 times)

Offline ctp123

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Mixed order reaction kinetics
« on: February 03, 2015, 04:11:47 PM »
Hello all,

New here. I am a graduate student and I am trying to determine the decomposition kinetics of a particular compound. I have found that it is not so straight forward because the decomposition appears more 2nd order in the beginning and as more of the compound decomposes, it is best described as first order.

How would I determine the rate constant(s) and the half-life for this system?

Also, how would I make a kinetics plot? I know it's typically Ln([a]) vs t for first order, and 1/[a] vs time for second order.

I've looked into this online but I am a synthetic inorganic chemist and am no expert in mathematics.

You don't have to give me the answer but any direction would be beneficial because it's been so long since I've derived equations.

Thanks!

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1799/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: Mixed order reaction kinetics
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2015, 04:22:37 PM »
You may have more than one path.
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

Offline ctp123

« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2015, 04:35:33 PM »
I do not know the reaction mechanism for this so it is difficult to give a path. The reaction is not in equilibrium by any means. The decomposition should look something like A2+ ---> A3+ + e-. I assume the compound decomposes by reaction with the solvent (associative mechanism for rate determining step) since there are no other compounds present in solution.

It just seems that at higher concentrations, the observed absorbance is is determined by the square of the concentration. I do not know why this would happen.