April 27, 2024, 12:04:23 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Disintegration of gypsum molds in presence of wood ash  (Read 3230 times)

Offline martinwilson1203

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Disintegration of gypsum molds in presence of wood ash
« on: March 22, 2015, 06:46:29 AM »
Hi,

As a sculpture student I am currently experimenting with casting ash (from wood fires) in Plaster of Paris (gypsum) molds. The process is similar to ceramic slip casting, in that I pour a slurry mixture of ash and water into the dry and porous molds, and then allow the water to be absorbed into the thick mold walls leaving the insoluble ash particles in the mold cavity.

This process is working rather well, except that after only a small number of repeated castings the inner surfaces of the gypsum molds become weak and begin to crumble. I need to work out why this is happening, and come up with a way to increase the longevity of my molds.

The problem is not very well defined due to the large variety of components found in wood ash, but I do know that the ash that I use is alkaline (as it reacts with fizzing when adding vinegar).

What could be reacting with the calcium sulfate in my plaster molds, and what could I try to prevent it? Would it be helpful to neutralize the ash with an acid before pouring it into the molds?

Thanks so much!!

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1801/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: Disintegration of gypsum molds in presence of wood ash
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2015, 07:23:53 AM »
If it is fizzing it contains carbonates. Calcium carbonate solubility is orders of magnitude lower than the solubility of the calcium sulfate. My first guess would be that you are replacing some of the CaSO4·2H2O with CaCO3. The latter has about twice lower molar volume, so your plaster becomes less dense and much more porous.