April 16, 2024, 01:36:30 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Reducing surface tension in propylene glycol  (Read 8347 times)

Offline durrantulah

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Reducing surface tension in propylene glycol
« on: February 17, 2015, 12:06:05 AM »
Hi everyone, I was hoping someone might be able to provide a bit of insight into the surface tension of propylene glycol. I am a biologist and we use propylene glycol in pit traps when catching ants, but we are keen to make sure that any ants that go into the propylene glycol sink straight away, and don't float on the surface. Now, I can see that we can either alter/mix the propylene glycol directly, and potentially change the surface tension, or we can put a surfactant on top to act more quickly in getting the ants into the liquid. But my understanding is that propylene glycol does have a low surface tension already, and is already used in some surfactants. So, in the first instance, would it make any difference to put detergent on top of propylene glycol…would it even work, or would it just mix in? Is there something that could be used as a surfactant that is non-toxic…maybe something like liquid paraffin?
Any help that can be provided would be very much appreciated.
Regards

Offline curiouscat

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +121/-35
Re: Reducing surface tension in propylene glycol
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2015, 02:17:04 AM »
Interesting application.

Why does toxicity matter? The ants die anyways, right?

A viscosity of 0.042 Pa·s sounds pretty low already. Water would be 0.001 Pa·s

How about Ethylene Glycol? 0.01 Pa.sec so a bit lower.

You could always try H2O + Glycol blends to get the viscosity you desire.

Why do you prefer PG? Are there other specific properties you are looking for?

Offline curiouscat

• Chemist
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2015, 02:21:17 AM »