March 28, 2024, 07:56:30 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: How to prepare a dilute Hcl  (Read 15732 times)

Offline Jaya C

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
How to prepare a dilute Hcl
« on: February 19, 2015, 12:32:28 PM »

Dear Members :

I am a newbie to this forum.

I work as a high school teacher in bangalore. I have following query

1) What is the ratio that i need to follow for preparing the diluted Hcl from concentrated Hcl
2) How to prepare dilute H2SO4 (Sulfuric Acid) from concentrated H2SO4

Appreciate your help. Thanks

Offline Dan

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +469/-72
  • Organic Chemist
    • My research
Re: How to prepare a dilute Hcl
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2015, 12:56:54 PM »
My research: Google Scholar and Researchgate

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2015, 12:58:08 PM »
I have following query

1) What is the ratio that i need to follow for preparing the diluted Hcl from concentrated Hcl
2) How to prepare dilute H2SO4 (Sulfuric Acid) from concentrated H2SO4

We like to help, but you have to ask more complete questions.  Perhaps we're facing a language  barrier, but science should allow us to work past that, in someway.  We have to know what concentration you have, and what concentration you want, numerically.  The words concentrated and dilute aren't specific enough.

Now, in times past, there were standard definitions of what those words meant that everyone accepted.  But that may not be the case for modern methods.  I know you're working as a high school teacher, so maybe the archaic definitions could be used, but they really shouldn't

Try to review the entire procedure, and post what's relevant, if you still need help after review.
Hey, I'm not judging.  I just like to shoot straight.  I'm a man of science.

Offline UKInstrumentation

• Mole Snacks: +1/-0
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2015, 07:36:28 AM »