April 25, 2024, 12:27:47 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Help adding grignard with nitrile  (Read 4287 times)

Offline molecularorbital

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Help adding grignard with nitrile
« on: March 05, 2015, 06:55:53 PM »
Hello everyone,

i'm a newbie in a research lab and I want to perform a grignard reaction on a complex nitrile, to turn it into a ketone. I can't say what the nitrile is sorry, due to a non disclosure agreement. I've read a few posts on the forum about this so I have a little bit of an idea, but i'd like to clear a few things up.

I want to take the nitrile and methyl magnesium iodide grignard, reflux it in THF, dry conditions, N2 atmosphere etc. Then I need to do an acid workup to get the ketone. My questions are:

1) How much excess grignard reagent should I use? 2:1? 1.2:1?
2) Is THF the best solvent for this? Or should I use diethyl ether or something else? I have read that nitriles are much less reactive than other things in grignard reactions, maybe a higher boiling point solvent would give more yield as I could reflux at a higher temperature?
3) For the acid workup to generate the ketone, should I be using ammonium chloride or dilute HCl or something else? How do I know how much to add?
4) Any other suggestions you have

Thanks!!

Rebecca

Offline phth

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +39/-4
Re: Help adding grignard with nitrile
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2015, 08:37:14 PM »