April 29, 2024, 04:40:03 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Mixing Fertilizers for a Planted Aquarium  (Read 6028 times)

Offline DLoja

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Mixing Fertilizers for a Planted Aquarium
« on: March 14, 2015, 03:59:15 PM »
I wanted to double check what I feel I've read after doing some searching. I am new to dry fertilizers and want to make sure I don't mix anything that shouldn't be mixed, as well as check about premixing them with tank water, tap water, RO/DI water for a drip system or pump. Here are the ferts:

Macro's (NPK) and GH Boost
Potassium Nitrate - KNO3
Monopotassium Phosphate - KH2PO4
Potassium Sulfate - K2SO4
Calcium Sulfate / Gypsum - CaSO4
Magnesium Sulfate / Epsom Salt - MgSO4

Iron and Trace mix
Ferrous Gluconate / Iron(II) Gluconate - C12H24FeO14
Plantex CSM+B (1.50% Magnesium, 0.10% chelated Copper, 7.0% chelated Iron, 2.0% chelated Manganese, 0.06% Molybdenum, 0.40% chelated Zinc, 0.04% Boron)

Once I'm happy with the ratios, can the macros and GH boost all be mixed together dry if desired?

What about in solution?

It would obviously be easiest to use water from the aquarium to make these mixes if I decide to mix them wet, but then I don't know what all is in the water and if any other reactions might occur?  I can also use tap water with a conditioner for chlorine and chloramine, or go to the store and get some RO/DI water if necessary?

If I wanted to set up a drip system or pump can I make a months worth and have all macros and GH boost together, and a separate one for trace / iron (if dosed together it will cause cloudiness)?  Will they all last that long without precipitating out of solution or causing any adverse reactions?

Thanks for all the help,
David
« Last Edit: March 14, 2015, 04:23:34 PM by DLoja »

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
Re: Mixing Fertilizers for a Planted Aquarium
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2015, 07:17:22 PM »