May 01, 2024, 11:52:04 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: how to store hydrogen???  (Read 14054 times)

Offline buckminsterfullerene

• Mole Snacks: +8/-6
  • 3.14159265358 9793238462643 3832795028841 97169399
    • Myspace
how to store hydrogen???
« on: April 11, 2006, 12:37:21 PM »
anyone has any bright ideas on how to store hydrogen effectively, efficiently and with out a huge cost??

i have been looking at palladium as a metal hydride but its very expensive, tanks but they are hard to work with considering that i am a high school student and would be making the hydrogen from the electrolysis of water, and need it stored under pressure.  i have also been looking at liquid but now that is really hard to do, and kind of dangerous.  right now i am left with nano-tubes, but would like to hear other ideas.

the way nano-tubes works is by keeping the hydrogen within the buckminsterfullerene structures such that there would not be any repulsion between the hydrogen, allowing for more hydrogen to be stored, but i really do not understand the process 100%, so if you know about this it would be of great help...

thank you
-daniel garcia
currently a student attending high school in South Florida, capital of all the hurricanes that come through the US, and the sunshine state.  My interests falls into electrochemistry going to renewable resources of energy, i like hydrogen fuel cells and solar energy

Offline P-man

• Mole Snacks: +13/-17
  • Join Smart People for a better future...
    • My Website
Re: how to store hydrogen???
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2006, 05:06:15 PM »
Well the researchers who found it fell accross the idea when a particular form of carbon started saocking up the hydrogen. The carpon that is used is a specific type (which I do not remember) and maybe hard to obtain. However, I may not be the best person to be answering this post.
Pierre.

Fight for the protection of our envrionmenta and habitat: http://www.wearesmartpeople.com

Offline Mitch