April 25, 2024, 03:44:19 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: About to finish undergrad, where do I go from here?  (Read 3547 times)

Offline Cato

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
About to finish undergrad, where do I go from here?
« on: October 24, 2015, 04:43:46 PM »
Yes, I know I should probably have already done this by now.  Yes, I know I should probably have at least figured out some of this stuff by now.  But what's done is done, and I'm just trying to pick up the pieces and put them together into a workable life for me.

I'm in my last year of undergraduate school for a ACS certified chemistry program with no emphasis at an unimportant school.  I have a 3.02 GPA, which isn't spectacular.  I just realized I have no idea what I want to do with my life.  At this point, I need to figure out where I'm going next, whether it's into industry, or into a masters or PhD program.  I always took it for granted that I would go to graduate school, an assumption that was supported by every professor I talked to telling me that a bachelor's in chemistry was worth about as much as the paper it was printed on.  The difficulty is, I don't know what I want out of graduate school.  I don't even know what field of chemistry to do my study in.  What I'd most like to do is teaching, but I'm aware that it's very likely I'll never get to do that, and even if I do, research is as much a part of the job as teaching.  What I've most enjoyed in chemistry thusfar is that it has problems, puzzles to solve, things that are fun to think about.  I have a good memory, and am good at understanding abstract concepts.  What I've least enjoyed has been the lab work.  I'm slower to complete the labs than my classmates, make more mistakes, and find lab work stressful because I'm a perfectionist, but I can't achieve perfection in the lab.  When I've been in lab groups, I was more useful in processing the data for reports than I was in the actual lab.  My biggest strengths are my