April 29, 2024, 01:18:43 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Solubility of Silicone in dethylether  (Read 2231 times)

Offline Pierre

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Solubility of Silicone in dethylether
« on: November 02, 2015, 04:26:09 PM »
Hello,
I'm a student working on dilution and evaporation refrigerators and I'm having some trouble on my diethy lether refrigerator because I used silicone joints to make it liquidproof but I'm wondering if silicone is soluble in diethy lether as I discovered last week that plexiglass were soluble in ether  :o . If someone could help me with these experimental issues it would be nice.
Merci

Offline phth

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +39/-4
Re: Solubility of Silicone in dethylether
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2015, 01:00:03 AM »
Be careful when handling toxic and explosive things.  Lots of plastics are partially soluble in ether.  Ether is the best choice to remove silicone gel/oil.  Look at the structure: can you tell why?

Offline discodermolide

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +405/-70
    • My research history
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2015, 11:04:57 AM »
The use of diethyl ether in this sort of application is an extreme safety hazard and I can only strongly suggest you do not do this.
You have already noted a problem: imagine if the ether vapour had escaped through the leaky seal. One spark and BANG.
So investigate a different coolant.
Development Chemists do it on Scale, Research Chemists just do it!
My Research History

Offline Enthalpy

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +304/-59
« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2015, 01:29:48 PM »
A tiny list of compounds and their boiling point:
http://www.engineeringtoolbox.com/boiling-points-fluids-gases-d_155.html
In the "Handbook of Chemistry and Physics" you find
Physical Constants of Organic Compounds > Boiling Point Index of Organic Compounds (= by temperature)
Fluid Properties > Thermophysical Properties of Fluids (=by molecule)