March 28, 2024, 01:24:15 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Al(s) + FeCl2(aq) --> ???  (Read 14549 times)

Vespertine

Al(s) + FeCl2(aq) --> ???
« on: May 05, 2006, 07:32:16 PM »
Hi, I'm new to this community and to these forums. I'm also fairly new to chemistry (only been taking it for about half a year now), but it's something I'm beginning to fall in love with.

Anyways, here is my question. I synthesized FeCl2 by adding HCl to Fe (more specifially, steel wool). However, at the time when I did this, I thought I had created FeCl3. A day later when I added strips of Aluminum to the FeCl2 solution, the aluminum strip "Fizzed" wildly as it dissolved and released a fair amount of a gas in the process (Since there is no gas in Al + FeCl3 --> Fe + AlCl3, the gas produced surprised me, and caused me to do further research into the HCl + Fe Reaction). Anyways, could someone help me out and tell me what exactly Al(s) + FeCl2 produces? I've searched on google for a while now, and have not been able to come up with anything other than the reaction with FeCl3. Thanks in advance.

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1799/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: Al(s) + FeCl2(aq) --> ???
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2006, 07:37:20 PM »
Your solution contained not only FeCl2 but also some amount of FeCl3, as iron gets oxidized to Fe(III) by oxygen from air. But that's only a sidenote.

As fro your main question - are you sure Al reacted with FeCl2 solution? Have you used stoichiometric amount of HCl, or excess? What was pH of the solution when you added Al?
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

Vespertine

« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2006, 08:34:46 PM »