March 29, 2024, 10:32:39 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Ferrofluid Calligraphy  (Read 3168 times)

Offline jellis1221

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Ferrofluid Calligraphy
« on: November 21, 2015, 05:29:22 PM »
Hello! I'm new to the forums and saw quite a few ferrofluid topics, but none could quite answer my question. (Hopefully this is posted in the right place.)

I'm working on an interactive electromagnetism project that will ideally allow users to "write" with ferrofluid. The goal is to be able to control ribbon-like ferrofluid strips. This video is my main inspiration.

So my question is: how does this work? Specifically, what possible solvent is the fluid in the above video suspended in to achieve that effect?

As a disclaimer, my background is in art - with pretty much no chemistry training - but I'll do my best to explain things on my end.

Video observations:
  • The video shows that the reaction is happening in shallow liquid.
  • The ferrofluid is likely denser than the solution its submerged in, given how is rests at the bottom when released from the magnet.
  • Could some type of surfactant in the solution be allowing the ferrofluid to rise straight up?
  • The tan surface in the video may be hydrophobic (or hydrophilic?). I purchased a teflon sheet that seems to be very similar in color and ferrofluid stain resistance as the surface in the video.
  • Though I'm not sure how relevant the surface is to the reaction, as someone else managed to achieve a similar reaction in this video, using a dish.
Here's where I am so far with solvent testing. Note: the tests were performed in a plastic petri dish, and after dropping in 3-4 ferrofluid drops the mix was magnetized from the bottom.
  • Isopropyl alcohol | Ferrofluid sank and separated into easily-movable spikes. Small, separate clumps. Solution seemed to crystallize the ferrofluid somewhat.