March 29, 2024, 02:54:15 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: why is it advised to stir a chemical while taking pH?  (Read 9632 times)

Offline michellejam

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
why is it advised to stir a chemical while taking pH?
« on: December 02, 2015, 02:44:50 PM »
Hi guys
I work in a lab, have for 20+ years, in one capacity or another. I have always stirred my solutions while taking pH and have found over the years that others do not. When there are questions as to the outcome of a reading I always suggest that the solution be stirred, and generally the outcome is better. I am a biologist, and work with all sorts of others, including chemists. Even the chemists dont stir, and sometimes they ask me why I do. My lame answer is that I had learned to do it that way. I would like to know myself, why this makes a difference.

Can anyone help me out?
Thanks in advance,
Michelle

Thank you all so much for your input, now I dont know what to think!...such is the life!...but I will give you all snacks, because I see that I can, and I am not even sure what that means, but how can snacks be bad? But maybe it is a typeo should read smacks, like; up side the head....in which case I would never.
« Last Edit: December 02, 2015, 05:37:39 PM by michellejam »

Offline Babcock_Hall

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +319/-22
Re: why is it advised to stir a chemical while taking pH?
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2015, 03:30:53 PM »
While we await the true experts...I was taught that if I stirred the standards, I should stir the unknown.  But if the unknown could not be stirred, then the standards should not be.  The reason had to do with junction potentials, but that is as much as I remember.

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1799/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2015, 03:50:21 PM »
I was taught to not stir :)