April 23, 2024, 05:04:47 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Heat absorbed during endothermic reactions.  (Read 4010 times)

Offline nils290479

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Heat absorbed during endothermic reactions.
« on: December 02, 2015, 05:26:47 AM »
Hi everyone,

Two weeks ago, I started learning chemistry by myself and I’m now reading The Cartoon Guide of Chemistry. There is something that I don’t understand about endothermic reactions:

During endothermic reactions, it is said that heat is absorbed, and I’m not sure I truly understand why energy is *absorbed*. My taking is that during an endothermic reaction, the bond(s) formed are weaker than the bond(s) broken, so if taking one endothermic reaction apart there is a *consumption* of energy (I think “consumption” is a very wrong word since energy cannot be created nor destroyed). But since the weaker form bond will need a smaller quantity of heat to be broken, the next reaction is likely to release heat and be exothermic, and then heat will be released.

So, if I understand well, it is said that heat is *absorbed*during an endothermic reaction not because heat is *stored* in the formed bond(s), but because the formed bond(s) are weaker and the next reaction is more likely to be exothermic and then release heat.
Is it so ?

Thanks.

Offline mjc123

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +296/-12
Re: Heat absorbed during endothermic reactions.
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2015, 08:44:08 AM »
That's pretty much right. Consider the reaction 2H2(g) + O2(g) :rarrow: 2H2O(g)
We can estimate the heat of reaction by imagining we first break all the bonds, to give 4 H atoms and 2 O atoms, then form bonds to make H2O molecules. To do this we need to break 2 H-H bonds and one O=O double bond and form 4 O-H bonds. Tabulated bond energies are
H-H 436 kJ/mol
O=O 498
O-H 464
So we need to put in 2*436 + 498 = 1370 kJ/mol
and we get out 4*464 = 1856 kJ/mol