April 24, 2024, 07:09:38 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: De-Icer formula help  (Read 5857 times)

Offline Blu3

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
De-Icer formula help
« on: December 22, 2015, 06:37:52 AM »
Hello to all, I am a student in my first year and I have been assigned to use specific chemicals and inorganic salts to create a de-icing fluid.

I have purchased Methanol and I have also got Sodium chloride - this salt is the same salt that we use in our own foods I guess if I am not mistaken. Now I am not sure how to combine these two correctly, and I am looking to create it in a 500ml plastic HDPE bottle. If anyone could help me out and tell me whether I should add water just a bit or not at all and in % tell me how much I should use for each product, would appreciate all the help I can get. Thanks in advanced

Note: I also have blue color in powdered form which I will use to give it a strong blue color.

Offline Hunter2

• Mole Snacks: +166/-48
  • Vena Lausa moris pax drux bis totis
Re: De-Icer formula help
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2015, 07:25:02 AM »
If you want to use it for de-icing the windshield of cars, both is not a good idea. Methanol is poisson and sodiumchlorid is corrosive. Better is to use a mixture of 60% v.v. isopropanole with water.

If not then you can mix the methanole with simmilar amount of water and also dissolving some of the salt.

Offline Blu3

« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2015, 08:29:55 AM »
Hello Hunter2, first thank you very much for replying, as for the sodium chloride I can use a non corrosive salt that you would recommend but for the Methanol I might have to stick to that for now. Also how much salt would I need to put in this mixture, thank you again.

Offline naitsabes

« Reply #3 on: December 22, 2015, 03:25:41 PM »