March 28, 2024, 04:46:37 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Nutrition chemistry help  (Read 3620 times)

Offline 14035253K

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Nutrition chemistry help
« on: March 02, 2016, 08:50:35 AM »
Hi,

I am currently studying for a nutrition degree and need a little help with some chem for a practical.

We were not given apparatus to test ph, (they forgot it) but we are still expected to know the ph.

Could anyone please help and tell me the ph of  following solutions and a brief description of how they got there.

All in aqueous solution
Baking soda 1% 2% 3%
Vinegar (diluted acetic acid) 1% 2% 3%
NaCl 1% 2% 3%
The water we used was not distilled, it was boiled tap water so I am guessing that they don't want exact figures.
I have no idea where to start....

Thanks

Offline Babcock_Hall

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +319/-22
Re: Nutrition chemistry help
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2016, 09:58:52 AM »
It is a forum rule that you must show your attempt or your thoughts before we can help you. One way for you to begin might be to talk about your expectations in a qualitative sense.

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2016, 11:02:00 AM »
Hi,

I am currently studying for a nutrition degree and need a little help with some chem for a practical.

Sure, glad to help.

We were not given apparatus to test ph, (they forgot it) but we are still expected to know the ph.

Well, that just simply sounds awful. 

Could anyone please help and tell me the ph of  following solutions and a brief description of how they got there.

As has already been mentioned, we'd like to see your attempt first.  Please read the Forum Rules{click}.  Perhaps, "how they got there" is a topic covered in your current textbook.  Or maybe not, this is a more typical undergraduate chemistry course concept.  Perhaps this is in another textbook, you may read soon, or were expected to have covered first. 

All in aqueous solution