March 29, 2024, 06:43:48 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Clear synthetic gelatin alternative  (Read 5962 times)

Offline dlssolution

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Clear synthetic gelatin alternative
« on: March 09, 2016, 12:05:55 AM »
Hello,

I'm an artist and I'm looking for help finding a suitable material for a project I'm working on, which involves a number of gelatinous sculptures that melt during the course of an month-long exhibition with controlled heating.

To do this I'm looking to make or find an existing substance that acts like gelatin in that it can be poured into a mold, but does not decompose, is 100% clear, can be remelted, and is non-toxic. An existing product by Clear Ballistics (clearballistics.com) seems close to what I need, but it is quite expensive because it's calibrated for forensic ballistics testing. For my use the density doesn't need to be so precise, and I'd like to be able to make large quantities at a low cost. Since I want to be able to melt this in a public setting (where children might be present) I want to know what all the ingredients are and that they aren't harmful when vaporized, but Clear Ballistics doesn't say what the ingredients are as a trade secret. Luckily I think what I'm looking for is pretty basic and hoping someone here can point me in the right direction for something I can cook up in my shop. I'm currently testing a mixture of Superclear 300 bloom gelatin with glycerin (instead of water), and 2% methyl cellulose to reduce water loss over time. It works quite well, but I would prefer to find an inorganic compound so that it can travel internationally without any problems.

Any thoughts?

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1799/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: Clear synthetic gelatin alternative
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2016, 02:56:52 AM »