March 29, 2024, 10:22:24 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Importance of Journal Articles in the Classroom  (Read 6613 times)

Offline earlnmeyer78

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Importance of Journal Articles in the Classroom
« on: March 28, 2016, 05:20:01 PM »
Hello,
My name is Earl and I am a graduate student in chemistry looking to go into education after receiving my PhD. Since beginning my higher education career I have had the pleasure of meeting a variety of intellectuals, may they be professors or students that approach the teaching and learning of the chemical fields very differently. In my few years of being a teaching assistant, mostly in organic and analytical labs, an approach I feel really gives students the best real-world experience in the comfort of the classroom, is having them read and review recent journal articles.

As a lab TA, I have read countless lab reports and sifted through pages of undeveloped writing, even from junior and senior level students. From the very beginning of the reports I can tell certain students still do not have the writing structure well engrained. The first thing I read is the abstract, which should tell the general background of the experiment, the reason is s being done, the general method, the results, and the conclusions. I often find equations and calculations added as well! Reading these reports have made me realize students don’t even understand how important their writing structure and style is, once they reach higher-level chemistry positions!

The best way to teach this is to force them to read real articles. Not only will students gain useful tools on how to write, but they will also be able to learn all about the greatest recent innovations in chemistry, and be encouraged to continue with their studies and make their own discoveries. Let me know what thoughts you have on this topic!

Offline MaryMolar

Re: Importance of Journal Articles in the Classroom
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2016, 05:23:12 PM »