April 29, 2024, 01:20:46 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Authorship issue---unfair situation  (Read 2600 times)

Offline kamiyu

• Mole Snacks: +8/-7
Authorship issue---unfair situation
« on: April 14, 2016, 07:50:09 AM »
Hi everyone, I am a 3rd year PhD student who is in problem now about authorship issue. I really wish someone experienced to provide me some suggestions/insights.

I have been working on OLEDs and I am responsible for inventing new structures of emitters + synthesis + characterization. Normally speaking, I will be granted first authorship for sure.

But my work needs some photophysical characterization and this is done by a new coming PhD student.
My work takes me 3-6 months while photophysical characterization takes at most 1 week.

Now, my supervisor wants her to be the first authors for some of my projects (I have done about 10 projects, but due to some reasons of the collaborator and therefore some delay to publish)

I am wondering why my supervisors wants her to be the first author. Things are so unfair in this group and many things are just a joke!

Offline Dan

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +469/-72
  • Organic Chemist
    • My research
Re: Authorship issue---unfair situation
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2016, 09:16:44 AM »
Aaaah, publication politics.

Unfortunately this happens quite frequently, and in some groups the authorship practices make no sense at all. I've been fortunate that my PIs have all been fair, but I know a few people who have been stung by political authorship decisions. It can be a very emotive issue, try to keep level-headed and polite. You can also talk to the student currently in the first author slot and see if she thinks it's fair. I know of situations where the first and second authors of a manuscript have approached the PI together to request an order change (and bizarrely were refused by the PI).

My advice is: