April 29, 2024, 12:05:23 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Looking for an answer  (Read 4579 times)

jeffdawgfn

Looking for an answer
« on: April 14, 2016, 08:38:51 AM »
I hope this is a proper category for asking this question.  I am an author, working on my sixth novel.  I have a specific chemistry question that I cannot seem to get answered by the usual Google search and I really do not have any contacts that include chemists so here goes...

Can food/sustenance be created without the use of animal or plant protein. For example...If I had no plant or animal life, could food be produced out of the basic elements if the equipment was available to do it.  I know that there are projects running to study artificial photosynthesis for solar fuel/hydrogen production and carbon dioxide fixation, but could we produce the complex carbohydrates needed as a  food source.  I assume proteins would have to be produced somehow by the production and combination of amino acids.  To simplify, could we produce what is needed to sustain life without using any animal or plant product.

Offline Dan

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +469/-72
  • Organic Chemist
    • My research
Re: Looking for an answer
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2016, 10:32:37 AM »
Yes, it is possible to synthesise amino acids and sugars, and combine them to make proteins and complex carbohydrates. Difficult and expensive, but theoretically possible.