Aromaticity
« on: May 14, 2006, 02:01:26 AM »
i'm studying for the acs test i have on monday and came across this question:

which structures would be classified as aromatic:

A) I, II, III
B) II and III only
C) I and II only
D) I and III only

the answer is given to be A, I, II, and III.
but i thought the qualifications to be aromatic are:
1. completely conjugated cyclic compound (which they are)
2. follows huckels rule (which they do)
3. flat molecule
4. NO NONBONDING ORBITALS
that means that III should not be in the answers because if u draw it with one corner pointing down, and do MO theory, there are bonding sites on the zero of energy.

so... ????

Offline Yggdrasil

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +485/-21
  • Physical Biochemist
Re: Aromaticity
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2006, 02:59:31 AM »
If you move the plus sign to the other carbon with no double bonds on III, it be aromatic.  Although it does have two nonbonding orbitals, it just has 6 pi electrons, so none of the electrons will occupy the nonbonding orbitals.  If the molecule had two extra electrons, it would be antiaromatic since the electrons would each occupy a nonbonding orbital, creating a diradical species, which is highly unfavorable.

timeless

« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2006, 03:32:58 PM »
ooo ok. so it doesn't matter that there are bonding SITES on the zero of energy, so long as there are no ELECTRONS in the bonding sites. if there was, then it would be NONaromatic...

yah?

Offline Yggdrasil

• Retired Staff
  • Physical Biochemist
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2006, 03:48:39 PM »
Yup, that is correct.

timeless

« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2006, 09:14:36 PM »