April 19, 2024, 09:57:39 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Questions on HCl and H2SO4 reactions  (Read 14698 times)

Offline P-man

• Mole Snacks: +13/-17
  • Join Smart People for a better future...
    • My Website
Questions on HCl and H2SO4 reactions
« on: May 16, 2006, 06:11:52 PM »
I am learning, on my own, with the help of textbooks kindly given to me at Christmas by my grandfather and my own experimenting, some more advanced chemistry than what I studied in Grade Seven. Partly as preparation for High School, and partly for my own knowledge. However, I ran across some reactions that need clarifying.

Through frequent observation, I noticed that HCl likes to form chlorides. So is this equation correct?

CuSO4 + 2HCl --> CuCl2 + H2SO4

Although I found it unlikely that it would form sulphuric acid, I could not find another spot to put the SO4, which I know cannot exist as a free compound.

The second puzzlement in my going-ons was that sulphuric acid usually reacts with metal carbonates to form sulphates, am I not correct? For example, they usually ended up something like this, right:

H2SO4 + CuCO3 --> CuSO4 + CO2 + H2O

Originally I found some weird ionic compound but then I realized that this broken down form would work better. However, until I do it, I have no way to prove that metal carbonates react in this way with sulphuric acid.
Pierre.

Fight for the protection of our envrionmenta and habitat: http://www.wearesmartpeople.com

Offline syko sykes

• Mole Snacks: +12/-10
Re: Questions on HCl and H2SO4 reactions
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2006, 06:22:32 PM »
regarding the first equation, H2SO4 is a strong acid so in solution it dissociates approximately 100%. For this reason, the formation of H2SO4 seems highly unlikely to me. It could, however, form HSO4 which is a weak acid and would therefore be an equilibrium reaction. You should be able to derive the equations from this if you feel inclined to do so.