April 19, 2024, 09:00:35 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: products of sodium sulphite and cobalt II chloride in water?  (Read 7863 times)

JOEMTN82

Hello,

I am a graduate student studying stream biogeochemistry and I wish to do an experiment involving a stream reach where I deoxygenate the system for 12 hours.  I have been doing a little research into potential chemical reactions which would aid this process and came across a method involving 7.9g/m^3 of sodium sulphite and 3.3g/m^3 of cobalt II chloride (as catalyst) for each 1g/m^3 of oxygen desired to be removed.  Besides the removal of oxygen I do not wish to pollute or alter the stream environment in any way.  I am curious if anyone is familiar with this reaction and may know what the products are so I may have an idea as to whether this would be an acceptable method for deoxygenation. 

If there are any other friendly ways of oxygen stripping that you are aware of I would greatly appreciate your input.  Thanks for your time and consideration.

Best,
Joe

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1800/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: products of sodium sulphite and cobalt II chloride in water?
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2006, 03:24:53 PM »
Could you explain what the experiment is in layman terms (taking into account fact that for some of us English is a second language :) )?

Sulfite will get oxidized to sulfate - that's the non-harmfull part of the story. Cobalt is completely different.
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

JOEMTN82

« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2006, 02:33:25 PM »