April 18, 2024, 12:04:28 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Need help understanding molar ratio problem  (Read 5108 times)

Offline greenwoodturner

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Need help understanding molar ratio problem
« on: December 29, 2016, 12:18:02 PM »
First off, I have no chemistry background at all.  I am trying to help a friend in Romania, who is studying for the medical entrance exam.  I am researching the following problem, but just have not been able to understand what to do ... it seems it should be simple.  I had to translate the problem from Romanian to English, so hopefully it makes sense :)  Besides finding out the answer, I would love to understand what needed to be done to get the answer.  Thanks in advance!

Here is the question:

What is the molar ratio of CH4 : H2O after the conversion efficiency of 60%, if the initial ratio was 1:3?

Offline AWK

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +555/-93
Re: Need help understanding molar ratio problem
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2016, 01:12:19 PM »
This is not a big chemistry.
Just write down a conversion reaction with stoichiometric amount of water assuming a complete conversion.
Then take into account a given efficiency for this reaction.
In the next step add an excesing amount of water to both side of reaction.
And finally calculate ratio (unreacted methane from the left side and unreacted water from the right side of equation).

All can be done without calculator!
AWK

Offline greenwoodturner

« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2016, 01:21:15 PM »
Thanks for the quick response!  I agree that it isn't big chemistry ... but it is big chemistry for a 60 year old who last looked at high school chemistry 40 years ago  ;)  I'm not completely sure that I understood your explanation ... but I will think about it for a while ... I may post another response asking for more help, if I can't figure it out :)

Offline greenwoodturner

« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2016, 01:32:22 PM »
OK ... I'm stuck ... again :(