March 29, 2024, 02:40:06 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Questions about the safe heating of a flask on a hotplate  (Read 9650 times)

Offline PeterDav

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Questions about the safe heating of a flask on a hotplate
« on: January 15, 2017, 11:06:58 PM »
I'm having challenges with a simple starter task of boiling water.

I tried to record the details of my experience in order to help answer potential questions, as a good record of experiments is essential.  This was a ‘dry-run’ of future lab experiments, so my measurements are approximate.  A real experiment I would have recorded more information and significant figures. Safety goggles are worn by myself and my wife when doing an experiment.
My motivation is that while I'm an engineer in a very separate technology, my wife is majoring in chemistry, and I'd like to gain some information / skills in chemistry.  You know, I feel the need to be helpful.
I tend to over think things, but find that in technology design, this is not always a flaw.
I am starting to work my way through:
    Illustrated Guide to Home Chemistry Experiments
    https://www.amazon.com/Illustrated-Guide-Home-Chemistry-Experiments/dp/0596514921
Lab: 6.2 - Distillation: Purify ethanol.
The distillation apparatus is an overly simple pair of Erlenmeyer flasks 2 stoppers a little glass tubing and some rubber hoses.  (similar to this setup:  http://www.scienceforums.net/topic/33873-homemade-distilation-apparatus/).

Foolishly, I changed the main chemical from drugstore ethanol to hardware store metal can “Denatured alcohol.”  When I get back to this experiment, I’ll switch to the Walgreen’s rubbing ethanol alcohol.