April 27, 2024, 09:09:57 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Handling, preparation and storage of thiols  (Read 3927 times)

Offline atije

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Handling, preparation and storage of thiols
« on: February 07, 2017, 09:30:28 AM »
Hi all,

I have recently embarked on trying to synthesize some primary thiols (negligible steric bulk), something I have never worked with before. They are almost all going to be high-boiling liquids. I know all the background theoretical stuff about how thiols are prone to oxidation to disulfides and beyond and how this tendency is lowered when the thiols are kept protonated, cold and under argon. But I have very little knowledge on how much these things actually matter in real life. Therefore, the following questions to the practical organosulfur chemist out there:

1) Can I run a flash column purification of thiols under normal conditions? Should I degas my solvents beforehand? Use argon for pressure instead of air? Do you add a bit of acid to your eluents - e.g. 1% AcOH?

2) Should I always store thiols under argon, or is it good enough to store them in the freezer? And which do you usually use... under argon at room temperature or in the freezer under air? (I don't love argon+freezer, since the temperature/pressure drop may cause air to enter the flask anyway, unless it is incredibly tight)

3) When preparing thiols (as the final product of a reaction), do you always degas solvents beforehand? Is it required?

4) Finally, what sort of stability issues are we looking at here... If I have thiols sitting on my benchtop the entire day, for example as neat liquids, or in solution, will they have formed disulfides the next day? Anything I should be particularly attentive to?

5) Finally, I would assume that thiols are most stable protonated in non-polar solvents (preferably hexane). Can you confirm?